IMAP Gmail with Gnus?

I was trying to train the gnus to handle GMail via IMAP but I got a problem: although I can get a list of groups with the name of all the labels and an “INBOX”, I don’t have the “[gmail]” and its sub group. So even I can move or copy articles(mails) between INBOX and those labels, I can not move them into the “Trash” or archive them. If I delete any article, it will disappear immediately ignoring the Trash.

Any solution?

Another problem of this IMAP Gmail thing is that it seems some of messages with Chinese content can not be viewed correctly in Thunderbird or in Gnus, no matter what encoding I choose to use. But they are quite normal with the webmail interface.

Update: In order to successfully connect to gmail, you have to get certificates first, since it’s via SSL. You can follow the steps introduced in the section Getting the certificates and Testing certificates of this wiki article

And this is how the part of my ~/.gnus file looks like in order to make IMAP Gmail work.

(setq gnus-select-method '(nnimap "gmail"
                               (nnimap-address "imap.gmail.com")
                               (nnimap-server-port 993)
                               (nnimap-authinfo-file "~/.imap-authinfo")
                               (nnimap-stream ssl)))

As you can see, I put the authenticate information into the ~/.imap-authinfo and in the form of:

machine imap.gmail.com login MyEmailAddress password MyPassWord port 993

P.S.: Since I use gnus mainly for email, so I use the variable gnus-select-method instead of gnus-secondary-select-method.

About this entry